California | Banking Law
Legal Question
my mom is a cosigner on a mortgage loan. How can we get rid of her being on the title or any other legal attachment to the loan?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Mark Saltzman, MBA, JD |
Presumably, the lender wanted your Mom as a cosigner because the lender wanted additional security. For example, your credit rating may not have been sufficient to support the loan. Maybe, your income was not enough. There could be many reasons for a lender requiring a cosigner.
In a nutshell, you will need to request that the lender releases your Mom. A good tactic would be to show the lender that the weakness in your application, at the time the loan was made, is resolved. Perhaps, your income has increased or your credit score is better.
Of course, another way to remove your Mom from the loan is to get another loan that pays off the existing one.
Good luck. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Mark E. Saltzman
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-13
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
GITTLER & BRADFORD
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-29
Search Questions and Answers


