California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Bankrupcy and Student loans
My son went bankrupt, as did we, before the new laws applied on the advise of my husband and his attny. Student Loan was privately owned, by Chase.Was documented.We even have the emails from Sallie Mae saying that they could not be consolidated since they were ''private loans.''. He went bankrupt.Afterwards Attorney shook his hand and said, ''This is a first. you have been released.'' So did the judge.Next thing we know the attorney calls and says that we need to ''renegotiate and reclaim'' the loan after it was released at a lower rate. We refused to let him sign it.So, how do I get a copy of the actual document of bankruptcy to see if it was actually released and that we were not being duped (he said the attorney for Sallie Mae was an old friend of his from law school and that we were being given a good offer'')
Sallie Mae has begun to call him again.We never would have let him BK had we known he could not get rid of the ''private loan''. Can I sue the Attorney for ''E & O''?
Anyone? I have allowed this man to misadvise my son and ruin him.
At worst can we ''renogotiate'' this loan without late charges and a lower rate?
Thank you.


