California  |  Bankruptcy

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/14/13, 6:38 pm

What is the median income threshold/ceiling for filing bankruptcy in CA? Is it set by state or even more locally? If so, Orange County, CA. Thank you!

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/14/13, 7:16 pm by Scott Jordan

Median income is set by the federal government (IRS) and is by state and size of family. You can find the information on the US Bankruptcy Court website.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Jordan Law Office 319 Diablo Road, Suite 202 Danville, CA 94526

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/15/13, 9:32 am by Carl Starrett

Median income is based on family size, but it is not the determining factor in whether or not you can file bankruptcy. Your income and allowable deductions play a part in determining whether or not you should be in a Chapter 7 liquidation or in a Chapter 13 partial repayment plan under the means test.

Your best bet is to consult a local bankruptcy attorney for further assistance..


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II 1941-C Friendship Drive El Cajon, CA 92020-1144

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/20/13, 8:08 pm by Charles Andersen

The median income is based on census bureau statistics that pick up what the average household income is by state. On our website you can find a tool that will show you what the median income is for your household size. http://www.absolutebankruptcy.org


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Charles Andersen, Atty 1761 Hotel Circle S. Suite 270 San Diego, CA 9208

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

130 Answers given in the last few hours.

8627 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search