California  |  Bankruptcy

Legal Question

Asked on: 1/18/08, 12:19 am

Relief from Motion of Stay

We recieved a relief from motion of stay and it was granted a week before our dishcharge was granted why is that? Is it possible they are looking into possible fraud and if so when would you be made aware of their intentions or is it for another reason? We recieved the discharge and we asumed this was included as we did not recieve any notice from the court that it was not and it is reporting on our credit report as discharged.

3 Answers


Answered on: 1/18/08, 12:32 am by Robert F. Cohen

Re: Relief from Motion of Stay

If you maintained a current address with the bankruptcy court, you should have been sent notice of the motion. If there are grounds to oppose the motion, you might retain an attorney to try to set the court's decision aside, since you didn't know of the motion.

Usually, secured creditors such as home or auto lenders, or a landlord, will bring such a motion if you're behind on payments. It doesn't necessarily have to be because of fraud.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Robert F. Cohen P.O. Box 15896 San Francisco, CA 94115-0896

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 1/19/08, 8:49 pm by Brian Whitaker

Re: Relief from Motion of Stay

A motion for relief from the automatic stay is filed by a creditor who does not want to wait until the case is closed (and the stay is lifted automatically) in order to proceed with a repo, foreclosure, etc. It has nothing to do with dischargeability of a debt.

What has happened in your case is that the creditor's attorney figured out a way to bill his client for relief one week sooner than the client would have received it anyway (it happens all the time).


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Lifeline Legal, LLP 9665 Chesapeake Dr #455 San Diego, CA 92123

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 1/21/08, 1:39 am by Allen Farshi

Re: Relief from Motion of Stay

I am assuming a creditor obtained the relief, alleging fraud. The Petitioner however may still obtain relief and a discharge, assuming the remaining creditors do not follow suit.

Good luck


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Allen Farshi 15260 Ventura Blvd. Suite 1740 Sherman Oaks, CA 91403

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search