Legal Question in Business Law in California

My apartment lease is through August 8, 2013. They are making the entire building move out by August 12, 2013 for construction renovation. I have lived here since May, 2008. I paid a $400.00 deposit when I moved in. I want to give a 30 day notice to quit the lease on July 1st for August 1st.

Since the apartment will not be "rentable" to anyone for those 12 days in August, do I have to pay for the 8 days of August that I will not be here?

How can I get out of paying for the 8 days in August?


Dixie Moak

Asked on 5/01/13, 12:48 pm

2 Answers from Attorneys

Jacob Kiani Law Office of Jacob I. Kiani

it depends on what your lease agreement says.

Read more
Answered on 5/01/13, 12:51 pm
Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach

Technically, if you have a written lease up to August 8, 2013, you are obligated under the lease agreement for the period up to August 8, 2013. Getting out early would technically be a breach of contract on your part.

Given your situation, however, it seems that the landlord would be willing to negotiate a different term for you to move out. Have you tried this option?

Read more
Answered on 5/06/13, 6:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in California