California | Business Law
Legal Question
business emails
I understand that my employer can read my business emails but does the employer have the right to enter my email folders and delete certain emails that I have received without my okaying it.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jerold M. Gorski |
Re: business emails Is it your employer's equipment, connection, and email system? If so and in absence of an employment contract or employee manual stating something else, generally yes. There may be some exceptions, such as if the employer is destroying evidence (during or in anticipation of criminal or civil litigation), but these types of exceptions arise not because the emails are yours or that the employer needs your permission, but because of the law generally. There are ways to automatically forward emails to a separate email account, but make sure you can legally do that before you set that up. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13881
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12208
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10409
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6470
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


