California  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/20/07, 3:56 pm

Legal Question


Cancellation of Advertising Contract

I own a small business and hired a radio station to advertise. We had a 4 month contract with them for $12k. After 3 months, the ads weren’t working so we decided to cancel 3 weeks prior to the last air date. In the contract, there is NO non-cancellation clause. It doesn’t say anything about us not being able to cancel anywhere on the contract. They are saying that the rate I got was based on a special price because of the length of the commitment. Therefore, I have already received the benefits of the discounts from the 1st 3months, and I owe them money for the 4th month because they will air the ad with or without my consent or money. We paid month to month. They refuse to let me cancel. They plan on airing the last month without my consent or money and they said they will put me in collections. The collections will be against their my personal credit.

My questions are: Do I have the right to cancel this contract? Does the radio station have the right to run the ad and then put me in collections for the balance?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search