California | Business Law
Legal Question
I co-signed an unsecured promissory note for 650K with a friend in 2004 for money he borrowed from his father. He then borrowed another 100K a month later and signed a new note for 750K from the same person (His father) he then made payments for a little over 4 years and then defaulted. They now are claiming I'm liable under the first 650K note back from 2004. Was the replacement note enough to release me of liability as the money seems like it would have been refinanced. I never received a dime or made any payments to the father. Thank you. Steve.


