Re: Dissolution of a Partnership
People use the term "partnership" rather loosely to describe business relationships that might in fact be something else, e.g. a closely-held corporation or a limited liability company. I assume in answering that this is a true general partnership.
In the absence of a partnership agreement that provides otherwise (and the agreement preferably is written, but it might also be oral or even implied-in-fact), the partners' rights to compensation (salary, build-up in equity account, or whatever) will be governed by one or the other of California's Uniform Partnership Acts. Which one depends upon when the partnership was formed.
I'm answering from home, and I don't have the Act in front of me, but I pretty well recall that partners are NOT entitled to expect payment, either in the form of wages or as a build-up in value of their equity (ownership) in the partnership. Only the contribution of money or tangible stuff adds to the partner's capital (at least it can), the performance of services is expected of partners. Partners were expected to take their compensation in the form of distributions of profits, not as wages.
Now, to be sure, many if not most modern partnerships have arrangements whereby partners are paid. However, as I remember the law, these arrangements have to be by agreement -- no agreement, no entitlement. So, this is probably where the other partner is coming from. He may be right, at least superficially.
The story doesn't quite end there. At least a half dozen legal theories could be raised in court to give your husband a shot at a better outcome. You'll probably need a lawyer who really understands partnership law and can study the facts of this arrangement and find the theory or theories that compel a better result.