California  |  Business Law

question bubble
3/29/04, 11:24 pm

Legal Question


Does my former employer ''own'' his customers?

My former employer is threatening to sue me. I quit my job and decided to open my own store in the same industry and a couple of clients have followed me. I did not take any information from the company when I left my job i.e. client files, business cards, or mailing lists. The owner is threatening to sue if I contact any client that just so happens to be a customer of thiers. All customer contact iformation is readily available on the internet. If I haven't ''stolen'' any information from my former employer, can they sue me for calling any client of thiers? Do they own the customers?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search