California | Business Law
Legal Question
Possible Fraud
We have invested $30,500 into the purchase of ATM machines through a company. The most recent check we received had been returned for insufficient funds. There has been no prior incidents of this in the past 8 months we have been with them. We have tried contacting the point of contact person, and he has not responded to any of our phone calls or emails. We have not received any of our property information (serial numbers, specific locations, etc.). They (the company) are in California, and we are in Virginia. What are our legal rights as far as trying to collect on this bad debt? We have reason to believe that our own money that was invested was used to pay the previous check amounts.


