California  |  Business Law

question bubble
3/16/02, 1:15 pm

Legal Question


monetary damages awarded in one country but assets in another

a chilean coffee bean company (a) agrees to sell coffee beans to another chilean coffee bean company (b)whose primary assets in california. The company (b)refuses to pay once received. Company (a) sues in chilean court and is awarded monetary damages, but company (b's) assets are in california. Under what circumstances would the U.S. court enforce the chilean decision?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search