In the state of California, am I as an employer required to give a 24 hour notice before deciding that an employee does not need to work their shift on a given day? Or can I simply let them know they are not needed for the day?
4 Answers from Attorneys
If they show up and you send them home they are entitled to 1/2 their regular pay for the day, not to exceed four hours pay. If you notify them before they leave home, you owe them nothing.
Unless you have a union contract (or, for that matter, and contract with the employee) mandating a different result, there is no legal requirement for 24 hour notice; any prior notice is sufficient.
Typo -- I meant "any contract," not "and contract." Sorry.
I agree with Mr. McCormick, and suggest you take a careful look at section 5 of the Industrial Wage Order that would apply to your employee.
Related Questions & Answers
Landlord is billing our business for under estimated CAM fees for our previous... Asked 7/09/13, 9:16 am in United States California Business Law
1. In California can an employer put an employee on the clock part time for several... Asked 7/08/13, 9:21 pm in United States California Business Law
Three of my senior friends purchased an alarm system from ADT. They were not pleased... Asked 7/08/13, 5:50 pm in United States California Business Law
The municipal have a right to hold the mayors permit even if the applicant are... Asked 7/08/13, 7:22 am in United States California Business Law
Can I legally use the name Lovecraft for a small online business? As in:... Asked 7/06/13, 11:22 am in United States California Business Law