California | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
my fiance is an illegal resident he came to california when he was three years old from mexico and is now 21, how do we go about him getting a green card and applying for residency or citizenship?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
Due to your fiance's illegal entrance, he cannot get his papers here. He'll have to go back to Mexico and finalize the paperwork for his green card. However, that act of departure itself will automatically trigger the 10-year bar from being readmitted (because he's been in the U.S. illegally for more than a year since 18). The only way to get around that bar is to prove that his wife, and citizen kids, if any, will experience "extreme hardship" if he is denied readmission. That is a difficult standard and he would need to hire an attorney experienced in these matters to help him prove the extreme hardship. Many people do not want to take this risk of leaving the U.S. to arrange their papers like this, since the decision on hardship is entirely within the discretion of the U.S. consulate officer in Juarez with no appeal rights.
However, if your fiance and you are willing to take that risk, I would be happy to help. Please check out my website and blog for how to contact my office and for a possible consultation, if necessary.
Larry L. Doan
www.GuruImmigration.com http://guruimmigration.wordpress.com (blog)
Note: The above response is provided for legal information only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration. We do not offer free advice except for the information provided herein on LawGuru which has been screened. If follow-up advice on your specific situation is desired, we offer a paid consultation in person if you are in the Los Angeles area, or by phone or email. Please visit our website www.GuruImmigration.com for more details.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Search Questions and Answers


