California | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Neighbor harrassment
I have a neighbor who makes false accusations to trigger the city officials and poilce officers to visit my home.
She also wets my vehicle on a daily basis by placing her water sprinklers toward the direction of my drive way.
Is there anything that I can do to stop this?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Joel Bryant |
Re: Neighbor harrassment False accusations:
The tort that first springs to mind is slander. Particularly if she's accusing you of criminal activity. And quite possibly false imprisonment. If her shenanigans have caused you to be arrested or even detained momentarily (including where you are required to go to the courthouse), this would likely constitute false imprisonment.
Now, the sprinklers:
Trespass to land -- if what she's doing is intentional, and she's basically spraying water onto your land (even if you're a renter), this would be an actionable form of trespass. Trespass need not cause actual damage. You will probably not get a whole lot as a remedy... I'd expect an injunction to ensue (that is, an order to quit sending water onto your land).
the damage caused is more of an annoyance, I assume. To sustain a cause of action for the tort of nuisance, you'd have a much better chance if it was of a more substantial nature, such as with irritating smoke, fumes, excessive noise, or if she decided to start farming hogs. If you're not in your car when it gets rained upon... well, you know, if a tree falls in the woods and nobody's around to hear it...
Now, the specific requirements of each of these torts vary widely from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. To get a firm grasp on what your rights are, contact an attorney, or perhaps consider doing some legal research yourself, if you're prepared for such an undertaking. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Search Questions and Answers


