California  |  Technology Law

question bubble
5/05/10, 9:23 am

Legal Question


I closed an email account on yahoo. The next day my disgruntled ex "reactivated" it (inpersonating me) and was able to do so because she knows me / family / etc.. So this was easy. She is now threatening me with extortion / blackmail (no laws were broken - she is just really upset). She will do this if I dont do that / etc..

I have sent yahoo a note to close the account this morning (not their fault - although I wish the damn account would have been closed after I closed it!), but want to know what my options are here. I am not sure I want to prosecute, but want any and all correspondence optained from this out of her hands electronically and in print outs.

Do I have any legal recourse here? Can I calmly suggest something to her to force her to stop acting like a loonatic? Can a quote a statute?

HELP!!!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search