California | Technology Law
Legal Question
We hired a web development company ("Company") a couple of months ago.
Long story short, they lied about their qualifications and what they could do. They kept promising that they could complete our project to our requirements. They breached their contract and we never got not even an "incomplete" product. They collected two payments.
We fired them and had our lawyers write them letters demanding our money back, which they did not respond to costing us lawyer fees. Our lawyers said that the amount is too little to litigate and not worth taking to court or pursuiing. Well, that money came out of mine and my partner's pocket and it really hurt us trying to start our first business.
Anyway, we called their other clients and came to find out that the same happened to at least 3 of their clients (we can imagine there were more - we only got a hold of 3). We lost about the same amount of money. The Company since shutdown their office and ran away with all our monies. One of the founders is believed to have fled the country, but this is not a fact. We know were they live and have their emails and cell numbers (they don't respond of course).
There's got to be a lawyer out there good enough to be able to PUNISH these scammers more than get our money back, although of course, we'd love to recover all of our money. The Company should not ever be able to do business again for scam and fraud.
If you can help, please state how strong you think this case is individually and collectlively, your course of action and how well you think it will follow through in getting the response we want.
Thanx.


