California | Construction Law
Legal Question
On 5-8 our customer John and Kay signed an estimate for $2200 worth of landscape irrigation work and gave us a check dated 5-8-2010, work began on 5-13. On 5-13 the remaining agreement was signed by the client, which included estimate, payment schedule, and Terms and Conditions. On 5-14, about 50% of the work was completed and the client refused our change order(verbal), and presented us with (a three day) cancellation on 5-15. On 5-15 the client refused to pay for anything other than the $220
deposit.
I understand from the State Licensing board that the 3 day cancelation notice starts from the date the agreement was signed. Would that be the 8th or the 13th? Thanks.


