The Civil Code commencing with Section 895 applies to residential construction and establishes minimum warranties, a "prelitigation procedure" (notice, acknowledgment of notice, document production, inspection and testing, builder’s right to repair and mediation), statutes of limitation, and limits for recoverable damages.
Although no action may be brought more than ten years after substantial completion or the date a valid notice of completion is recorded, certain of the defects have significantly shorter statutes of limitation, including countertops, which If no useful life representation is made, or if the representation is less than one year, the period shall be no less than one year.
I do not know all the facts of your case, and I do not legally represent you. Although I strive to make sure the information I provide is generally accurate and useful, you should promptly consult a lawyer who can learn the details of your case more completely, to ensure that the information I provide, and your interpretation of it, is appropriate to your particular situation.