California | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Need an attorney to sue Fisher Investments
I contracted with Fisher Investments to manage money. They did not meet my expectations for conduct and performance and I very quickly fired them. I wrote a story about them that went to the top of Google rankings. They didn't like it and slapped me with arbitration, claiming Breach of Contract, Intentional Interference with Prospective Business Relations, Defamation and etc.
Claims have no basis in fact, the action is frivolous and is in clear violation of California anti-SLAPP laws. Fisher claims that JAMS has jurisdiction based on the standard arbitration clause in the Fisher Investments customer agreement. They filed in California, even though I live in Colorado. (The agreement specifies location closest to me, as do JAMS rules.) JAMS classified this as a consumer arbitration and Fisher Investments is paying all the filing and arbitration fees. They will also have to pay all the attorney fees, when I prevail.
I filed counterclaims and am suing for $54 Million. July 9th is the deadline for Opening Briefs. I need a competent attorney to represent me on contingency basis.
The story that got Fisher Investments rallied and additional details on the case are available from my blog on Odesskiy Listok newspaper site.


