California | Consumer Law
Legal Question
I live in California. Four years ago, I had an alarm system installed in my home and was told I was signing a 3 year contract (no, I didn't read all the fine print). I called the company a month ago and told them that I wanted to cancel my service, as I had completed the terms of the contract. They informed me that the contract stated that it would automatically be renewed unless I notified them in writing less than 30 days prior to the expiration of the original term of the contract.
I was stunned, as I believed that I had fulfilled my obligation only to learn that it was extended another 2 years. They will only let me cancel if I pay the remainder of the 2 years service up front. Otherwise, I have to continue to pay the monthly fee and cancel less than 30 days after the automatic renewal...or it will be renewed again.
My question is....is this legal? Is there anything that I can do to fight this?
Thank you!


