Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

Hi, i have a car that i am trying to sell but the bank wont give me the title to it because i have another outstanding debt with the bank on a vehicle that was repossessed. The vehicle that was repossessed was from a divorce with my ex wife. The court ordered her to pay for and take on the responsibility of the vehicle and she never did. The bank will not give me the title to my car unless i pay the debt. Is there any way around this or will i never see the title to my car unless the ex pays the debt?

Asked on 6/08/13, 5:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Laurie Gertz and Laurie
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

These seem to be two independent transactions. I am not sure how the bank can refuse title to your car if you have complied with that obligation. I must be missing something.

Read more
Answered on 6/08/13, 7:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now