California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 6:57 pm

Legal Question


A couple questions: I received a summons for credit card debt of $31,000.

the summons was forwarded to me. The Court is in Marin County. The plaintiff just left it with my private mailbox.

Is this valid? Can I ignore it?

I have no income or assets ...my wife supports us....but I don't want a judgement against me. I've been told to negotiate a settlement but how can I do this if I have no assets or income?

I don't want to declare bankruptcy, but I will if this is the best solution to reduce debt...

Bob


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search