Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

Hi,

I recently found myself in what I felt was an unfair situation. I rent a home at the same place where I work. I started here about two years back and had to fit new carpets to the home that I rent, I initially paid for the carpets and it was also agreed that they would pay me back, however I had held back on them paying me as they were not very financially stable and at times let people go due to finances, or so it seemed. Recently in November they put my rent up by around $115 per month, I didn't find that very fair either but obviously had to accept it, I then submitted the carpeting invoice of $2050 which was told to me they would pay it. I waited for two weeks for the check but nothing was paid, then I was called in a meeting with the VP, HR person and CFO at which time the CFO simply informed me that they had decided they would pay my carpets, but would first put my rent up backdated to when I arrived here two years ago and explained further that if one calculates the increased rent over two years it comes to about $2800 and therefore I would owe them $800 instead. Despite me trying to explain how wrong that was I was simply told in return it was very fair as far as she and they understood and by means of their logic forced to accept their agreement, despite an initial agreement with the rent that I was paying two years back.

Please advice if you feel this is legally and ethically incorrect.

Thank you most kindly.

Trevor Louw

Asked on 12/01/10, 7:24 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Grenville Pridham Law Office of Grenville Pridham
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

They cannot legally raise your rent for past years. You need to find a new job, a new place to live, and sue them in small claims court for the carpet.

Read more
Answered on 12/14/10, 1:01 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now