California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Can a judgment against one spouse be collected from community property assets?
BACKGROUND.....Wife and husband seperated on 1/3/93. Wife quit claimed jointly held home to husband on 1/23/03, quit claim was notorized and delivered to husband. Wife and husband were sued on 12/14/93. Judgment was granted against wife as individual and as co-trustee of a trust. Nothing was adjudged against the husband in any form. Husband sold houseon 1/2/93. Title Company is holding proceeds from sale. their position is the proceeds are community property because the parties are still married and the quit claim deed was not recorded.
Can a judgement against one spouse be collected under the above circumstances?


