California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/20/02, 1:35 am

Legal Question


Medical Bills for Minors, who is responsible

My husband and his ex-girlfriend have a 5 yr old son. She took him to the dentist and did not pay the bill. It went to collection and my husband received a letter from the collection agency. So I called them to tell them and they informed me that my husband as well as the mother is responsible for any medical bills incurred for their son. Even if we didn't consent to the treatment or know of it happening. We never even received a bill yet we were on the collection list. That doesn't seem right to me. Can you please tell me whether the person at the collection agency was correct? Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search