Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

Hello. I opened a bank checking account in June 2006. I went through financial problems as well as debt because of my financial problems. But I've contacted a debt settlement lawyer three years ago because I got a job where it requires you to not be in debt im order to have employment with them. Successfully I've paid off 4 creditors and currently still paying my last one. But this bank is my last one. I totally forgot about it because it doesnt show up on my credit report. They've called me in August 2013. They called my Dad, mother in law, sisters, and husband. I don't know how they got all their phone numbers but they said theyre serving me papers and I gave them my current address. I told them i have a lawyer and to send anything else to him.But I havent received anything. Now they called again a few days ago and I told them I don't know why your calling again. I told you to talk to my lawyer but they said my lawyer said the account is invalid. So when I asked my lawyer what that meant and he told me because its pass the 7 years to sue me. So I could pay or not. But they just can't sue me anymore. I just don't want them harrassing me if I choose not to pay. Which I'm leaning towards not to since I cant be sued for it. But is it from the day it opened or day it defaulted. Hope you can help me. Thank you!

Asked on 10/05/13, 6:55 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Carl Starrett Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Why aren't you asking these questions of your debt settlement lawyer? He knows the facts better than we do.

Read more
Answered on 10/05/13, 7:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now