Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

Rule 3.740 collections lawsuit

Hi, my financial situation has imploded in the past 6 months and I owe Discover card approx. $12,000. They have filed a Rule 3.740 lawsuit against me in El Dorado County, California. I am a student and the only asset I have is a 1/4 interest in my permanent home in El Dorado County. I am concerned about losing my home. I am looking for an attorney to give me advice on the process and to let me know if my home can be forced to sell even if other people are on the deed. Any help will be appreciated. I have been searching for help to no avail.

Thanks,

Elaine

Asked on 9/23/08, 7:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert F. Cohen Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Rule 3.740 collections lawsuit

If there's any other debt, you might consider bankruptcy, or working out a discounted repayment arrangement with Discover's lawyer.

Read more
9/24/08, 12:54 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now