California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Statute of limitation on a note signed in Oregon
In July 1999 I signed a promissory note in Oregon. There have been no payments to the note for various reasons. In Dec 2000 I moved to California and became a permanant resident. The statute of limitations is 6 years in Oregon and 4 years in California. I am now being sued in Oregon, but I live in California. Which statute of limitations applies? Where I signed the note or where I live? The Statute for Oregon runs out in July and the statute in California has run out. If they don't serve me do I beat the statute in Oregon. Because I live and reside in California and have not moved back to Oregon, can I exert the defense that the statute has run if I get served. I have not been served but there is a chance if I visit relatives in Oregon, they can serve me if they can find me. Please let me know where I stand. I am not a deadbeat and did not pay the note for very good reasons. I would prefer to let the note die than to go to Oregon and fight it. I do have a very good countersuit but prefer for it to just go away....Thank you very much


