Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

Can I sue a collection company/companies for harassment? I have multiple collection companies calling my house every day multiple times. The individual that they are looking for is not me but has the same first and last name as me but different middle initial, different date of birth, different SSN. I have proven I am not the person they are looking for on every occasion that they have called, they ensure me that they will take my name and number off their call list, but without fail someone different but from the same companies will call the vary next day or within two days and start the harassment all over again. I check my credit rating weekly and have no loans or delinquent debts and I have life lock so I know that someone hasn't stolen my identity. The harassment has been going on more than two months now and is getting more intense. My wife works from home and is on the phone with oversees about six hours a day and the harassment is really starting to effect her business and I am paying the price for their persistence. Is there anything I can do to stop this?

Asked on 9/28/12, 5:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joel Selik www.SelikLaw.com
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You might try getting their FAX,address, email and putting your information in writing.

Read more
9/28/12, 7:21 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now