California  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/29/08, 5:59 pm

Legal Question


misdemeanor hit & run

My friend 's boyfriend is a 26 yr. old male. He is being charged in Superior Court for:

Driving w/o a license--unpaid tickets. Hit & Run. Fender bender--under $1000. damage.

Original case filed in TRAFFIC COURT for 12/15/08. Summons served (USPS) 11/23/08 that case has been moved to Superior Court. Arraignment set for 3 Dec. 2008. Charges are the two misdemeanors listed above.

Question/s:

When is a Public Defender assigned: at arraignment or at pre-trail.

Does he have to plead ''not guilty'' in order to get a public defender.

Is there an advantage to pleading ''no contest'' rather than guilty?

What kind of jail time is he looking at.

The case against him appears strong: license plate number and positive I.D. by the victim. He may not be in much of a position to bargain with the exception of avoiding the cost of going to trail. For several reasons--he should try to exercise as much damage control as possible.

Has small child to support, no priors, and is gainfully employed.

Part II:

Mother of the child is the registered owner of the vehicle. Is she responsible for the damages? She has not reported the accident to the DMV , her insurance company, or the company that holds the note. what can she do?


AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE

Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!

YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!

Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7

VISIT OUR WEBSITE


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search