California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/20/13, 6:06 am

can police search and seize anything they want without a warrant only probable cause?

4 Answers


Answered on: 5/20/13, 6:43 am by Phillip Wheeler

Absolutely not. Either talk to a lawyer or do some research on your own. In a search engine (i.e Google), just enter in "California Search and Seizure" or "know your search and seizure rights in California".

Again, police can't play God. There are some very specific rules concerning automobiles in particular. For example, glove compartments, trunks, bags in the car, etc.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At Law- caonlinelawyer.com P.O. BOX 665 Morro Bay, CA 93443-0665

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/20/13, 9:12 am by Anthony Roach

Your question is too generally worded. I realize you are looking for the answer to be no, but you leave out a lot of details which doesn't let any attorney answer your question intelligently. It is possible the answer to your specific question could be yes. I suggest you speak in person with a criminal defense attorney and go over all the facts. Search and seizure questions are factually intensive.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/20/13, 11:24 am by Zadik Shapiro

The general rule is that they need a search warrant but there are many exceptions. For more information you may go to my blog: http://takingthefifth-acriminallawblog.com or you may call me at 415-336-7534.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/20/13, 12:25 pm by Edward Hoffman

What an officer can search and/or seize without a warrant depends upon the circumstances. You haven't told us what the circumstances are, so we can't offer any useful guidance.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search