California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/07/13, 8:31 am

My son was caught by his friend steeling some money, writing a check to himself and forging her name. A couple months down the road she caught it! I was called and was told what he did and he did not lie about it! The total charges were about $380. I told her she can call the cops and have him charged, she said if I get the money back I don't want to do that! It was paid back and, of course he's lost friends, but now after the fact they keep saying they will charge him if they hear things, which he hasn't said anything? What can I do?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/07/13, 9:32 am by Kelvin Green

First thing you can do is not discuss this situation with anyone. You could be called as a witnesses. Second, don't post anymore details in a unlicensed forum.... They on have the option to "charge him". Someone could make a police report and the case could be investigated... Once investigated the DA could then file charges.. In the future the case will go outside the statute of limitation. Your son should avoid these people, not anger them, and stay out if trouble. If het gets questioned by the police, make sure he has an attorney.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Law Office of Kelvin Green . California Bar #286285, CA ..

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/07/13, 12:58 pm by John Laurie

I do not see this as a legal question, but I would not do anything. You could be a witness and as this does not involve you directly I do not think that this is something that you should meddle in. I would not. Your friend made a mistake and that's that. He took care of it and as I understand it there are no charges.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/07/13, 8:09 pm by Zadik Shapiro

If the police call you or ask you questions you should refuse to answer. They will only question you if they need information to hang your son. Just tell them that you do not wish to answer any questions.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search