California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/29/13, 6:25 pm

Can a victim/ witness leave and move to another state while the case is still going on?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/29/13, 8:46 pm by Anthony Roach

Yes, unless the court orders otherwise. I suggest that if you are a victim/ witness and plan to move, that you at least speak to the DA on the case.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/29/13, 10:00 pm by Zadik Shapiro

But if the DA knows you are leaving you may be served with a subpoena before you leave.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/30/13, 11:02 am by Edward Hoffman

Yes. It would be unjust to take away any of the victim's rights in order to prosecute the person who harmed her. Her departure won't necessarily have any impact on the case, since she can come back in order to testify at trial.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search