California | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
To whom do I report sexual harassment by the company owner? It's a very small company...and the "HR dept" IS the company owner who is sexually harassing my niece. Who can she turn to for help? The EEOC or a private attorney?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Kirschbaum |
When you are dealing with a small company like this, it rarely does any good to complain directly to the person causing the harassment, unless it is the type of conduct the owner may truly not realize is offensive and is capable of changing his behavior.
Generally the best approach is to hire a private attorney who will gather all available evidence to build a case and either confront the employer directly or take legal action, if warranted. Alternatively, the employee may file a complaint with the California Dept. of Fair Employment and Housing or the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. There are strict deadlines to do this, so such complaints should not be delayed if going that route.
The employee should document all harassing events, such as when they occurred, who was there to witness it, and detail each incident. Lawyers like to see detailed timelines to assist them. For more informative advice, if would be prudent to schedule and appointment with an experienced employment law attorney in your area. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


