California | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
senior age limits
i am 51 1/2; on social security disability (permanent). most senior housing complexes say i must be 60, or 65, or 55. can i make them make an exception of my age and disability? are there laws regarding exceptions, etc.
thank you
susan
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: MARK GEYER |
Re: senior age limits Hello.
If by "Senior housing" you mean a privately owned residential dwelling facility, i.e. an apartment or similiaar business that caters to "Seniors" the answer is probably not.
If the "housing" is a government run/owned/subsidized facility where there are direct Social Security payments, etc., then perhaps.
Most likely the answer is a resounding NO however.
To provide a greater in depth response, I would need further information from you: owners, under what programs is the business operated, etc.
If this is a commercially run "rental business" of sorts, and your disabilities are of such a nature as ingress and egress are involved, be advised that the Americans With Disabilities Act really does not come into play for individual accomodations OTHER THAN in the work place.
I hope that the little amount of information I have provided is helpful
Sincerely,
Mark Geyer |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


