California | DUI Law
Legal Question
What is the difference between a dui, a wet and wrecklace and a dry and wrecklace.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bruce Kapsack |
A DUI is drunk driving and average penalty is two thousand dollar fine, 30 day license suspensio, 5 month restriction, 30 hour DUI school and 2 to 5 days of wrk program. You must obtain DUI insurance which runs about 3 thousand a year and it is on your record as a first offense for ten years (right now) which increases the penalty for any future DUI. You are also on probation for three years and it is a crimninal misdemeanor.
A wet reckelss counts as a first offense, is a misdemeanor and has the same three year probation. The fine is usually about one thousand dollars and you may qualify for a 12 hour school instead of the 30 hour. There is no work program and you do not have to obtain DUI insurance IF you prevail at your DMV hearing.
A dry reckless is merely a couple hundred dollar fine one year probation but is a misdemeanor. It has little insurance implications and does not count going forward for any new DUI's. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Joe Dane
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 990
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Hale Law Group
San Ysidro, CA
Questions Answered: 834
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office of Robert L, Marshall
Chico, CA
Questions Answered: 748
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-24
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices OF David M. Wallin
Palmdale-victorville-valencia, CA
Questions Answered: 584
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Search Questions and Answers


