California  |  DUI Law

question bubble
7/12/06, 1:54 am

Legal Question


Dui......

I was arrested and booked for DUI (my first DUI)over the weekend. The booking report states I'm being charged with a misdemeanor DUI and that I had .08 BAC

I did take a field sobriety exam and a breathalizer test at the station.

I don't remember being pulled over. My memory of that night is very vague so I don't even know if I answered many questions the police may have asked me before arresting me.

My court date is in September and I'v already contacted the DMV about scheduling a hearing so that I don't lose my license after 30 days.

Do I have a chance at reducing the charge? Can I ask for a continuence when I appear at court?

I know what the possible penalties may be. Since it's my first DUI offense is jail time a certainty?

Hopefully a restricted license is given to me since I need to not lose my job over this.

I would just like to take care of this and move on.....

Can retaining a Lawyer help or would I just be paying alot of money for something I could have done myself? And that is to take my punishment!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search