California | Education Law
Legal Question
Can a felony 23153 prevent a CA teaching credential
I think the title is all that is necessary.
Thanks
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: MARK GEYER |
Re: Can a felony 23153 prevent a CA teaching credential Hello!
Your question breaks down to the folowing issues:
Can a DUI (Driving under the influence) case where the under the Influence driver caused injuries to another pedestrian or motorist, where the driver was found or plead guilty/no contest to the offense [probably with some past criminal history with alcohol] AS A FELONY, be forever prevented from being issued a teaching credential by the State of California?
If the question is "forever prevent" the answer is no. A lot of factors enter into the question. How long ago was the felony conviction, what were the facts of the incident [a little vs a great bodily injury, etc) WHAT ACTS IN MITIGATION HAVE OCCURRED SINCE THE CONVICTION, i.e, rehabilitation, education, comunity services, service to the "alcohol" community, true sobriety since, medical treatment, psychological therapies, but not so limited.
All of that type of "healing" processes bears great relevance in the approval after the application process.
If you are soon to apply for the credential, you would be well advised to consult with an attorney who is knowledgable with mental health issues, criminal issues and educational matters. You should "plan" your application ONLY AFTER seeking such a consultation as you may need that very same attorney to represent you in an administrative hearing should the State decline to issue the certificate.
Forewarned is armed so to speak.
I hope this has been helpful to you.
Regards,
Mark Mitchell Geyer
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
James R. Goff, Attorney at Law
Laguna Niguel, CA
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-01
LAW OFFICES OF MARK MITCHELL GEYER
Calabasas, CA
Questions Answered: 194
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-11
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Barron Law Corporation
Sacramento, CA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-17
Search Questions and Answers


