California | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
fees for entertainment in clubs and bars
We run karaoke shows in local clubs and bars using original karaoke cds and professional equipment purchased from karaoke companies. M question is-what entertainment laws pertain to the owners of the establishments? They have been approached by SEVERAL different companies saying they represent songwriters and the like,and need payment for every karaoke and dj show that is run in their establishment. What fees, if any apply to this situation, and what rights does the club owner have? Thanks for your help.


