California  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/25/12, 8:22 pm

I have an order for temporary spousal support in the state of california for a same sex marriage that ended after 16 months. I moved out of state and my ex falsified documents saying I was served for contempt of court for non payment of the spousal support. Because I did not know about the hearing, she won the contempt of court order and approx $6000 in back support. That is how things stand at the moment. I currently live in out of state and can not afford to hire an attorney to get this dismissed. I have not been working in the past year and a half and am now going to work. Can my wages get garnished for this even if I live in a state that doesn't recognize same sex marriage?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

102 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search