California | Medical Leave
Legal Question
Getting fired after 12 weeks on FMLA
Hello,
I was told by HR at my work that if I didn't return after my 12 weeks of FMLA that I would be fired even if I have a doctors note saying that I cannot return as of yet. I am going thru a series of epidural steroid injections and if they don't work the doctor wants to do spinal fusion surgery on me. There is no workers comp case with this by the way. I have my insurance through my work and if they fire me I won't be able to get the surgery. Also I wasn't asked to be put on FMLA, I was told that they are automatically putting me on it. They sent me something in the mail saying that I was ''approved'' for FMLA even though I didn't ask for it. Please tell me what the law is on being fired for this. Thank you.


