California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
7/19/07, 5:17 am

Legal Question


My 16 yr old son wrecked a golf cart

My son plays golf everyday. He rented 2 golf carts from a clerk at the proshop who was working his ''first day on the job'' The clerk asked the boys (a foursome) if they needed a cart? My son had asked before to rent a cart and knew the course rules/regulations were that you had to be 18 and have a drivers license. When asked if they needed a cart and my son said ''sure'' and had the money to rent 2. He did sign for them and told the clerk he was only 16 and the clerk said that it was fine, and took his money. After playing thru on the way to the club house a race started between the two carts and my son who was driving one of them went up over a grassy hill and crashed into a tree. He had bumps and bruises but was not seriously injured. The incident was big and the golf course manager had to have the cart towed off, took the boys in the office and told my son he would have to pay for the damages. This was on May 15, 2007 and yesterday I received a bill for $840.27. Can the clerk be held responsible for this damage as he wrongfully rented my minor son the cart? Wonder if he would have broke his neck, then what? I mean I know he knew he wasn't to have a cart, but he offered and boys will be boys. Please advise Susan


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search