California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Oral Promises (living together)
Thank you for reading and answering my question--I appreciate your time. I'd like to know whether the following oral promise(witnesses)would be worth my time in court. For 4+ years, my two children and I have shared a household and lived with a man (who is a police officer and has a JD)who now no longer wishes to live with us. Because we planned to buy a house together,and live together, and since he makes triple what I do, and had a better credit rating, and could get to the goal quicker than I, and because my family (me & the kids)occupied more than half of the household, we agreed to certain living arrangements. One being, that he would pay less than half of the rent for the years we rented so that we could afford a house. When the time came to buy the house, he decided that he no longer wanted to jointly purchase the home. He said that he needed the entire tax writeoff, he solely purchased a house for all of us to live in. He decided that everything I owned was too crappy to move into our new house and that he wanted to purchase everything new. We gave it all away and also give him the tax credit slips for the write-offs. He always promised that if it didn't work out that he would take care of us. Now, we have nothing.


