Legal Question in Civil Litigation in California

We are in a personal injury settlement. Do we have to pay taxes on the money we get? If the settlement is a real estate income property, can we set up a non-profit organization foundation and put the property under this foundation's name, can we get benefit from the foundation? For example, if we run the foundation, can we get paid for our time? The foundation's purpose is to help people who were damaged from violence. If we are the people damaged from a violence, can we also get the money from the foundation?

Asked on 6/26/13, 3:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Edward Hoffman Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your question is more about tax law than personal injury law. Please re-post it under that category, so that more lawyers with the relevant expertise will see it.

Good luck.

Read more
6/28/13, 1:53 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now