California  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/27/13, 9:59 am

what can prove a person has a legal capacity to sue/ Are their any points of authorities from pass cases that can be refferenced?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/27/13, 10:35 am by Kristine Karila

Yes, there are many past cases which deal with this issue. But the facts need to be known in order to research applicable case law. You can probably retain legal counsel to research and/or write your motion for a fee of approx. $300.00 per hour or maybe for a flat fee.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Kristine S. Karila 9891 Irvine Center Dr., Ste. 200 Irvine, CA 92618

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/27/13, 11:41 am by Robert F. Cohen

If you insert the term "legal capacity to sue" (in quote marks) in an internet search engine, there will be many links to the definition of the term, some containing cases. You might also go to http://www.scholar.google.com , click on the "legal documents" button, and search for the term. You will find many cases that reference the term. Look for ones decided by courts in California, if that is where the case should be located.

The term generally means the person must be of age of majority, of sound mind, and have a direct interest in the case that is being filed, among other things.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Robert F. Cohen P.O. Box 15896 San Francisco, CA 94115-0896

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/27/13, 6:02 pm by Anthony Roach

If you go into your local law library, you should look at the first volume of The Rutter Group's Civil Procedure Before Trial. Chapter 2 of that series has a good discussion, including citations to case law, on the capacity to sue or defend a lawsuit. I can't give you anything specific without knowing the specifics of what you are looking for.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search