California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
7/21/10, 4:14 pm

Legal Question


Have a question about how to proceed. We have been served with papers saying we are being sued by an attorney we hired back in 2007, to help us recoup a deposit we had made for a business transaction. That is all done now, and there was nothing able to be reouped. Our attorney did his job, and we owe him about $9000. We had set up payment arrangments with him last year, but my husand fell out of work. As soon as we had some money coming in again, we started making regular payments of $300 a month to him. (We never had an official payment arrangment). He wanted payment in full, but we did and still not not have it.

He startedadding %18 interest to every month that we paid a payment, and basically the principle balance started going up, so we stopepd paying him. It didnt make sense for our family to scrap $300 a motnh to pay him, then to have him add more interest on, when we could have used that $300 for food money for our 3 kids. :(

I voiced this to him, and he said he isnt supposed to make payment arrangements as an attorney, and that full payment is due immediatley. Again, I told him we do not have it.

So, as of this week, we have been served with papers and are being sued, at a court where we used to live 400 miles away. We can not afford to go there, so we are wondering what our rights are, and how we can be represented there on the court date in mid August. Do you have any advice? We can not afford to hire another attorney, and FULLY intend to pay this debt back. But we do not have the money at this point. Please help. Thank you!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search