The requirement is 5 years of residence. However, Asylees are deemed to be lawful permanent residents as of one year before the date of approval of their application for adjustment to lawful permanent residents, provided asylum was granted more than one year before the approval of their adjustment to permanent residence. So, more information about your case will be needed to further advise how early you can apply.
Applicants may file up to ninety days prior to the completion of the required period of continuous residence. But, applying for citizenship must be carefully planned, as it can bring up other problems related to immigration, if any. I would recommend hiring a qualified immigration attorney.
Note, most out-of-state attorneys can legally help you because we are permitted to practice federal immigration law outside of our state of jurisdiction. Please feel free to contact me for a free initial consultation.
Sincerely,
Michael A. Harris, Esq.
Associate Attorney
LAW OFFICES OF
KRAVITZ & GUERRA, P.A.
800 Brickell Avenue, Suite 701, Miami, Florida 33131
Please view my contact information for more information about my professional background.