Legal Question in Immigration Law in California

Customs agents can search my laptop OR seperate computer hard drives?

Upon arriving to a US airport such as SFO (San Francisco), can customs agents take my laptop and turn it on and look through my windows folders and all other data storage (personally burned cds, dvds). Likewise, not a laptop but instead for hard drives for a standard desktop computer, can customs personnel take my standard hard drives, hook them up to their computers, and search them for anything they wish? Can this be done simply ''upon arrival'' without any flagrant provocation, such as ''spooky looking male'' or eradic behavior? Can this be done without my consent, or used as a way of keeping me detained until I allow them to?

I am a white male, normal US citizen, zero criminal past (really), working as an english teacher in some parts of Asia. Nothing controversial about me, but a similar english teacher recently told me this happened to him. Was he likely fibbing?

Asked on 3/23/06, 4:49 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Antonio Maldonado Maldonado Law Group PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Customs agents can search my laptop OR seperate computer hard drives?

They can do it and it does happen often.

Read more
Answered on 3/23/06, 11:14 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now