Re: F1 OPT visa holder marry US citizen
She won't receive employment authorization until about three months after you file your case. If she is employed without authorization she's still eligible to adjust status to permanent residence in the U.S. upon expiration of her OPT before the employment authorization is approved. She might request an unpaid leave of absence or true volunteering without expectation of pay in the future for the current work to sweeten her employer to keep her in their loop - if they want to terminate her. Telling them she wouldn't be penalized for unauthorized employment might help too.
What would be most helpful is hiring the right counsel to prepare your case from now to quickest get the employment authorization soonest.
I would be happy to help you out if you contact me offline. Check me out at http://www.yardum-hunter.com, fill out a consultation request there at http://www.yardum-hunter.com/Main/Consultation.asp or email me at alice@yardum-hunter.com.
Alice M. Yardum-Hunter, Attorney at Law, Certified Specialist, Immigration & Nationality Law, State Bar of CA, Bd. of Legal Specialization
ST: 15915 Ventura Blvd., Penthouse #1, Encino, CA 91436
EM: alice@yardum-hunter.com WEB: http://www.yardum-hunter.com
A “Super Lawyer” 2004 – 2009, Los Angeles Magazine